I am on the technology short bus, I hope…

I am on the technology short bus, I hope this goes where it is supposed to go. The course I have chosen is one I am teaching now, Senior Seminar in criminal justice.  There are several activities students could become involved in: teaching inmates at YDC to read, volunteering at the Boys/Girls Club, they could do ride-a-longs with local police departments, volunteer to be involved in the Students night auxiliary patrol (SNAP)

Self-intro
I am on my second career. My first was as a deputy in the U.S. Marshals Service. I had a very interesting career chasing fugitives, protecting witnesses and other great things. In that career, I dealt with robbers, killers and spies (and those were the better ones).
I also go to work up close and personal with a former Chief Justice (Warren Burger) a current Associate Justice (Anthony Kennedy) a couple of movie type personalities.

I have been teaching for the past 14 years. I enjoy the change. I want to be the best I can.

Gerald

About Dr. J. Metzker

I believe in the power of a liberal education to transform individuals and society. I am currently the Executive Director of the Brown Center for Faculty Innovation and Excellence. Formerly, I led a community engagement initiative and held a full professorship in chemistry at a public liberal arts university. I am a proud product of The Evergreen State College.
This entry was posted in GC Cohort, general interest. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I am on the technology short bus, I hope…

  1. lizspeelman says:

    Gerald – just some thinking out loud (or on the blog) – I am currently working with making opportunities for our Outdoor Ed students to work with different populations of youth – including residential facilities – there may be some kind of opportunity for doing some kind of program that involves “personal improvement” from an academic and character piece – ie. your idea of teaching inmates to read at the YDC. Maybe some of your and my students could work together on something like this? Again – just thinking.

  2. sarabudo says:

    Hey Jerry: have you thought about having some of them assess the student police academy that just started or you could have them participate in it.

Leave a Reply

