For anyone who grades student writing and hates Plagiarism

Hello all.

Good news! We finally have access to Turnitin.com again! If you haven’t used it before, I highly recommend it for any class where writing/reports are required. The website provides a quick way for students to submit their electronic files (reports) and checks it for plagiarism (from internet, class, and other sources). I’ve included last year’s account info and password for GCSU (see below). It should be the same.

The university is trying to decide whether to keep paying for the program based on usage, so use it now and maybe it can stay!

The set-up at turnitin.com is very straight-forward. In fact, my friend in the government department just starting using it and had her class set-up for submissions in about 20-30 mins. Also, if you have the students submit their own work, it’s minimal work for you. You will get a screen that shows all students and their “warning” level that is ranked with highest % of possible plagiarism at the top. I have my students submit an electronic copy and a hard copy (for me to read/grade). However, if you are hesitant to start a new requirement for the students mid-sememster, you can also load multiple files yourself quickly. You do need the electronic copies from students, but I  loaded all my papers (40 students) from my organic lecture course in about 20 mins and got back instant feedback. (They all passed, no plagiarism worries!)

To establish an account in Turnitin.com, you need to identify yourself with
GCSU.
Use this info to do that>

Your account name: Georgia College & State University
Your account ID: 32602
Your account join password: gltwy39

Problems? I contacted Wesley Smith (see below) at Wesley.Smith@gcsu.edu.

Wesley C. Smith
Director, Web Enabled Resources
Georgia College & State University
Office 478.445.1269

Let me know if you have questions I can answer.
Kim

kimberly.cossey@gcsu.edu

About Dr. J. Metzker

I believe in the power of a liberal education to transform individuals and society. I am currently the Executive Director of the Brown Center for Faculty Innovation and Excellence. Formerly, I led a community engagement initiative and held a full professorship in chemistry at a public liberal arts university. I am a proud product of The Evergreen State College.
This entry was posted in announcement, notes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

