Sara Doude's Criminology Course Goals

Hey Everybody:

So, I worked on course goals for my criminology course on Friday afternoon.  Here is what I came up with:

Students will…

1.  identify and differentiate the main perspectives of criminolgical thought (e.g. biological, psychological, sociological, and radical/conflict).

2.  be able to construct and apply a(n) exisisting criminological theory in relation to their own rulebreaking/deviant/criminal behavior.

3.  be able to differentiate and highlight the differences between media representations of the CRJU system and reality representation (e.g. FBI’s UCR, NCVS) of the CRJU system.

4.  be able to identify and discover the ways in which white priviledge impacts social institutions, more specifically the CRJU social institution.

5.  be able to illustrate the ways in which the ideal of social and legal justice impact their lives and focus on the individual nature of crime.  Moverover, students will illustrate the ways in which the solutions to crime are sociological in nature.

The way I came up with the goals included making a tree of what I already do and why I do it.  That seemed to help alot. 

Critique…

About Dr. J. Metzker

I believe in the power of a liberal education to transform individuals and society. I am currently the Executive Director of the Brown Center for Faculty Innovation and Excellence. Formerly, I led a community engagement initiative and held a full professorship in chemistry at a public liberal arts university. I am a proud product of The Evergreen State College.
This entry was posted in general interest. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sara Doude's Criminology Course Goals

  1. Dr. Metzker says:

    These look very good. I think your idea of the tree is a great one. Would it be possible to somehow post the tree? I’d like to see it.

    I am interested in how you might measure some of these goals. For example how will you know that a student can identify how white privilege impacts social institutions?

    Excellent work (and bonus for being first!!)
    julia

  2. geraldfisher says:

    I am really excited, I think I am figuring this thing out.
    Sara:

    This is for criminological theory? If so, as an upper division class, should you include higher level skills?

Leave a Reply

