$1000 Service Learning Grant

This may be applicable to your course design projects. Applications should be sent to sara.faircloth.

julia

Last week I informed you about an application I am filing for $1000 to support a service learning project that will culminate on Global Youth Services Day, April 23-25. Several people expressed an interest. If you are interested please send me the following information.

Deadline for submitting information to me is 5 p.m. November 4.
This is what I need from you for consideration.

  • A one paragraph write up of what the project will include.
  • What community issue will be addressed;
  • how many students will be involved;
  • how many service learning hours you will produce;
  • will you require the end cycle reflection paper from the students;
  • will any student research result
  • What class will the project be tied to
  • Will there be any collaborators on the project
  • A budget for up to $1000

I have just given you the amount of information I have about the grant. The purpose is to encourage faculty/teaching staff to use service learning as a part of their teaching method. This is not a complicated grant, so requires fairly basic details.

About Dr. J. Metzker

I believe in the power of a liberal education to transform individuals and society. I am currently the Executive Director of the Brown Center for Faculty Innovation and Excellence. Formerly, I led a community engagement initiative and held a full professorship in chemistry at a public liberal arts university. I am a proud product of The Evergreen State College.
This entry was posted in notes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

