Julia Metzker – Hello!

Hi Fellow IC-bGers. I send a heart-felt welcome to all of you. I have been working with this group for several years and it is the most meaningful professional development experience I’ve encountered since I began teaching. I hope you find this group and these workshops useful – and if you don’t please let us know how we can improve the workshops. We are committed to being inclusive and effective. If we aren’t meeting those goals then we need to know it.

I have reworked most of the courses I teach using the principles we will discuss throughout the year and I see significant improvements in student interest and engagement, which is an accomplishment in chemistry courses.

This year I plan to continue to work with our new GC1Y section: Climate & Chemistry. This course presents the principles of chemistry through the lens of three important global climate issues: (1) ground-level air pollution, (2) stratospheric ozone depletion, and (2) global warming. We are currently teaching the first inception of the course and so far the students are very engaged. I am team teaching the course with Catrena Lisse (another IC-bGer), which has been a great experience.

Since this course effectively teaches the same chemistry content as our standard Principles of Chemistry course, it is important that we assess our students effectively. We want to be able to say that their ability to solve chemical problems and understanding of chemical content is equivalent (or better!) to students that take the Principles course. So… Assessment will be a focus for me this year as I think through improving the course.

Through this workshop you will have the opportunity to think about how your courses fit into the big picture of the GCSU curriculum, develop concrete and measurable student learning outcomes, align course activities and assessments to your goals and finally develop a syllabus that effectively “tells the story” of your course.

Thank you for all that you do,
Julia

About Dr. J. Metzker

I believe in the power of a liberal education to transform individuals and society. I am currently the Executive Director of the Brown Center for Faculty Innovation and Excellence. Formerly, I led a community engagement initiative and held a full professorship in chemistry at a public liberal arts university. I am a proud product of The Evergreen State College.
This entry was posted in announcement, general interest. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

