Hello everyone (from Sandra Godwin)

Hello everyone (from Sandra Godwin)

I am a sociologist and have been a member of IC-bG for several years. Okay, I can’t exactly remember the year I joined (2009?), but I’m not an original remember. I joined because of the course Julia and I co-taught the summer of 2010: IDST 2405 (a science course for non-science majors): Necessities of Life. We titled it, “Animal, Vegetable, Human: The Science and Sociology of Your Food.” One of the things I like most about IC-bG is the space for collaboration across disciplines which includes co-teaching and the hands-on help we get from each other at the workshops. Believe it or not, before IC-bG I had never asked myself, “What do I want students to be able to DO after taking my course?” I am still working on that for my Intro to Sociology course (Sociological Perspectives) and my theory course, but my elective upper-levels are much improved. Right now, Valerie Aranda and I are continuing to work on our “Art and Social Justice” course that we taught for the first time last spring. We’re teaching it again Spring 2012.

This entry was posted in GC Cohort. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hello everyone (from Sandra Godwin)

  1. Sandra Godwin says:

    Sandra Godwin is 4m9s

Leave a Reply

